Happy May Day, 2015

IMG_20150501_091509418When I was little, May Day was a simple event.  We made paper cone baskets filled with flowers (violets and lilies of the valley, mostly) which we hung on people’s doors, rang the bell and ran.  Sometimes we included candy in the baskets.  A sweet tradition from Northern Europe, I think.

May Day has taken on a political meaning.  I like that it is a day of rebirth I think the politics are appropriate. It is hopeful. I am forever hopeful.

One thought on “Happy May Day, 2015

  1. Happy May Day to you!
    Bright and cheery and filled with sun. When I was little we danced around the MayPole. However being from a Southern Baptist family it was more like marching around the MayPole. I think crepe-paper was involved.

Leave a Reply

