Kollwitz

For the last third of life there remains only work. It alone is always stimulating, rejuvenating, exciting and satisfying.“–Kathe Kollwitz

This quote is from one of my favorite artists. Her drawings are mindful and political. They were her work throughout her life.

The quote struck me, sitting here trying to figure out the what now of my life, that I can still find work that makes me happy and excited.

My partner has come alive in many ways since he retired.  As I write this now, he is driving to a Peace Symposium in Chicago, having spent yesterday researching papers in Ann Arbor that relate to his father’s work and life in the Philippines.

I hope that I will find inspiration when I retire as well, but I want to start now, before I retire.

Relationships are  stimulating, rejuvenating, exciting and satisfying and perhaps they are the work of the last third of life or they are where we find our true vocation.

Leave a Reply

